CGF Awards

The Fashionable Environmentalism: Green Fashion Show this summer

Ecological initiative by Maharshi Karve Stree Shikshan Samstha’s School of Fashion Technology & DyStar-India, Navi Mumbai, ‘Consortium of Green Fashion’ presented the most interesting Green Fashion Show as a grand culmination of a national level competition of Green Fashion Design and Best Green Initiative Awards- industry and NGO and Designers. This was held on the 5th April 2013 at Textile committee Auditorium, Mumbai and 6th April 2013 at The Lalit, Mumbai.

Consortium of Green Fashion, one of a kind initiative aiming to create a platform for exchange of ideas, information & sustainable practices making Green Fashion as the only choice of present & future. This CGF initiative was well received by top institutes as well as top fashion industries. The collections were judged by Hemant Trevedi, Rahul Mishra, Meher Castelino and Philippe Werhahn, a German based designer who is an expert in Upcycling.

The show was choreographed by Achala Sachdev.

The key note sessions related to Sustainability, compliance, Upcycling, Water conservation, Energy Conservation, Waste Management were presented by Mr. Steven Jesseph, Mr. Manish Mandhana and Mr. Rahul Mehta. Other guest speakers include Mr. Rahul Mishra, Mr. Ulhas Nimkar, Mr. Gerard De Nazelle, Mr. Rahul Bhajekar, Dr. Naresh Tyagi, Dr. Ela Dedhia and Ms. Anita Ahuja.

To promote Green Fashion and to acknowledge Green Initiatives of Industries, NGO’s and Designers, the applications were invited from various national and international organizations. The following best initiatives were awarded at the time of CGF Award evening.

The CGF award important mentions are:

The best Green Initiative – Industry award was given to – Alok Industry, Polygenta, Welspun, Mehershaw

The Best Green Initiative – NGO Award- was given to GOTS and Conserve

The Best Green Initiative – Designer Award- was given to Mr. Rahul Mishra and Mr. Philippe Werhahn

The national level student competition the award by Mandhana Industry was given to Runner up – Rogue and the winner – Entangled Yatra.  Both by School of Fashion Technology, Pune

The Best paper presentation award was given to Ms. Jignasa Shah, SOPHIA – Shree B. K. Somani Memorial Polytechnic and for students category of Retro Rewind Group of B. D. Somani Institute, Mumbai.

The Best Poster presentation award was given to Ms. Jinal Sangani, Nirmala Niketan, Mumbai.

President of CGF – Mr. Vishwas Deval (Chairman, MKSSS), Chairman of CGF – Mr. Rajesh Balakrishnan, Mr. Rahul Mehta, Dr. Naresh Tyagi and Mr. Manish Mandhana as an advisory board members along with Mr. Ravindra Deshpande, Mr. Milind Lele, Mr. Rahul Bhajekar and Dr. Manju Hundekar are the key forces behind the activity.

The Conference partners were Bombay Rayon Fashion Limited, Polygenta and Laxmipathy Sarees.